headsets

Tell us about the things in your panels and flight bags.
aj042599

headsets

Postby aj042599 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:18 pm

Okay I'm a new student pilot (emphasis on the new) and am looking for a headset. It's a bit overwhelming with all of the choices out there. My only requirement is that I want something comfortable and reasonably affordable. I currently use a middle of the road David Clark at my job as a firefighter and that set feels fairly comfortable. I've used other headsets in the past that become very uncomfortable after a 1/2 hour of use. So any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Aaron B.
Elk Grove, Ca
E27 (I think)

Rockdog

Re: headsets

Postby Rockdog » Mon Oct 26, 2009 4:38 pm

A budget range would be helpful. Otherwise someone is going to just say Bose!!

kellyrw

Postby kellyrw » Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:03 pm

I agree with Rockdog about the budget, but when it comes to my hearing, comfort and safety, the budget wasn't a concern. I bought the Bose after my 2nd lesson, just wasn't able to hear my instructor to my satisfaction and an hour or so in the 150 wore me out. Best $1000 bucks I've spent, although I bought my wife a pair of Lightspeed Zulu's($850) and I have to say I think they're a bit more comfortable. But I wear the Bose for 2 and 3 hour x-country and hardly know they are there. I have Lightspeed Q Solo for my passengers (I'll save a buck where I can) and they are pretty comfortable but not ANR. I'll be upgrading the backseat headsets to Zulu's in the near future, for my passengers comfort. Not being able to be fully involved in conversations or hear the music surely detracts from my passengers enjoyment. Good luck, there are a whole lot of plethora of choices.

txpilot82

Postby txpilot82 » Mon Oct 26, 2009 11:05 pm