Our first vacation with aviation... EYW

Look through your logbook and tell us the story behind some memorable entry.
Soccer-Jock

Our first vacation with aviation... EYW

Postby Soccer-Jock » Wed Mar 11, 2009 7:49 am

I'm a newbie pilot with about 120 hours. My better half and I decide it's time for a vacation, living in the Tampa, FL area we decide on Key West. Hummm... 9 hour drive or 2.5 hour flight? No brainer. Since I rent, cost is a concern but we decide to make the "flight" an event of the vacation. I've never been to EYW, nor have I ever traveled across so much water, needless to say I'm concerned. I make my flight plan weeks in advance. I have a CFI check it over... just to be sure. The weather is outstanding at both ends, but gusty at our destination. We wake up and leave for the airport that morning at a leisurely 9:00 am. As we walk through the door at my former school, suitcases in tow, I look back and say "Here's where we go through security". I see Randy behind the desk and say "Hi Randy!". He answers back "Hi Eric." I look back again and say "OK, security is done"... and we walk to our plane, pre-flight, load up, and we are gone. A beautiful flight ensues. My other half marvels at Sanibel and Captiva Island as we pass above. Soon Ten Thousand Islands glide below us followed by turquoise waters. Somewhat used to working the Tampa class B, and their somber and very matter-of-fact communications, I have carefully arranged what I will say to Navy approach into Key West. "Navy Approach, this is Cherokee xxxxx, level 6,500, over the STRAP intersection, VFR to Key West."....(then, in an almost whimsical tone) "Cherokee xxxxx, Navy approach. Welcome to Key West! The boys are busy today, so you'll need to stay clear of our airspace. Descend at your discretion and report Key West Int. in site." I was so taken back, I think I stuttered on my reply! The handoff to Key West tower, and again "Hi Cherokee xxxxx, welcome to Key West! Please report turning final." T