Buying a Warbird

Ask your aviation questions here and get answers from other Listeners and maybe even one of the UCAP gang. Questions can be serious ones or just trivia.
wloving

Buying a Warbird

Postby wloving » Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:43 pm

I am a 500 hour pilot of mostly Piper and Cessna variety. I have owned my first airplane for about 2 years, a 93 Piper Saratoga II HP. It's an awesome travel plane...3 kids and a wife to many destinations without a problem (albeit the kids are all 10 and under currently). I enjoy it as a travel plane, but I need to satisfy the other reasons for aircraft ownership (the fun plane and the upside down plane). I am choosing to combine those 2 desires in one purchase - a Warbird. I have spent the last 2 years at Sun-n-Fun hanging out with the Warbirds of America guys - Link Dexter and crew. The first year, I flew my Saratoga in on the wardbird arrival (sweet) with his son, Greg Dexter, my instructor. Then I flex with Link in a T-28B to Punta Gorda to drop off the T-28. Greg flew my Saratoga so I got to take aerial shots from the back seat of the T-28.

I am interested in spending $150k or less and get a restored and well maintained airplane. I am focused on the T-6 (not G) and T-28A variety. Does anyone have any suggestions of what to watch out for, or avoid, or are willing to talk me out of this ridiculous thing I am getting ready to do? :)

Thanks.

Will Loving
wfloving@me.com
N9202Q - homebase: KOFP

baswell

Re: Buying a Warbird

Postby baswell » Fri Apr 30, 2010 2:50 am

Does it have to actually be a WW2 vintage aircraft? How about a more modern warbird like a YAK-52?

Heaps of fun, well below your budget to buy and if it needs maintenance, easy to get parts for.

Dave Higdon

Postby Dave Higdon » Sat May 08, 2010 5:49 pm

The Yak is a decent option, but so is the T-6 -- and lots of 'em still around...think you'll find your budget won't touch a decent T-28...