Potential LSA options? (Long post)

JimP

Potential LSA options? (Long post)

Postby JimP » Mon Jan 11, 2010 9:06 pm

Sorry for the long post, but I can't help but get excited about all this!

During a conversation last night, my wife casually mentioned that we needed to start planning to get me an airplane! And she was dead serious! Now you have to understand: I've been telling her for 30+ years at every birthday and every Christmas that what I really wanted was an airplane, and getting the "Yeah, right..." reaction from her every time. So to hear her actually come right out and say that (meaning maybe even this year!) was almost more than I could handle... I've been walking around with my head in the clouds and a smile on my face ever since. People at work keep asking me if I'm OK... I tell them I've got airplane fever...

Per Dave's and Jeb's advise (echoed my almost everyone on the forums), I've been considering what my airplane's primary mission would realistically be. I started flying in the mid-70s, did a few tours of duty as an Army helicoper pilot, but basically stopped flying when I left the service and went back to school full time, then the demands of life (job, family, finances) kept me out of flying for a while. I hold a Commercial certificate for both Helicopters and Aircraft Single-Engine Land, plus an Instrument rating in the Helicopter. But I haven't flown at all since I left the Army in the mid-80s! Never let my EAA membership lapse, though, and never stopped thinking "Someday..."