My story - and thanks!

Mail and other feedback from listeners.
Landis

My story - and thanks!

Postby Landis » Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:19 pm

Back in 2006 a computer-oriented friend of mine told me I should check out a podcast about airplanes, something he knew I was interested in. I'd heard of podcasts before but didn't really have any interest in downloading something amateurish with just talking. But I'd humor him and check it out. You guys were talking about, among other things, a little radio controlled helicopter. I enjoyed the show, purchased one of those toys, and proceeded to download the 4 or 5 earlier podcasts I'd missed.

Back then I was a private pilot with about 180 hours over the preceding 10 years. I was self-employed as a photographer and cartographer and surviving financially but never likely to make enough money to fly. Your podcast kept me thinking of flying and got me out to the airport a couple more times a year than I had been.

About a year after I started listening to the podcast, my wife and I talked it over and we decided that since I wasn't likely to make enough money to fly whenever we wanted, that I should pursue it on a professional level.

I got a loan and signed up at a puppy mill. I studied my butt off before going and made sure I showed up to every lesson well prepared. Six months later I had my multi, instrument, commercial single and multi, CFI, CFII, and MEI and about 350 hours.