I've solved it!

Things that don't fit anywhere else.
isnoop

I've solved it!

Postby isnoop » Wed Aug 03, 2011 2:13 am

I've done it. It wasn't hard, really. I've just solved our pilot population problem once and for all.

Being a recently minted pilot, I feel I'm justifiably proud. (A condition I'm told never fades) If my wife would let me, I'd daily wear a shirt that boasted "Why yes, I am a pilot". Short of that, I carry my pilot's license around in my wallet just waiting for a moment when I can whip out that blue and green card. The problem is, that moment never comes.

The idea is this simple: Tell the FAA to put my damned photo on my license!

Imagine over half a million pilot ambassadors waltzing around the country flashing their pilot's licenses every time they rented a car, bought a beer, signed for a package, wrote a check, and flew commercially. I guarantee this would start many interesting conversations and would quickly lead to an increased awareness of aviation and a not insignificant number of new PPL and SPL starts.

What is the FAA waiting for, anyway... Didn't congress clarify that the driver's license combo wasn't what they meant when they mandated photo IDs for pilots? Every other state and government agency issuing IDs has this marvelous photo technology so it can't be that hard or expensive. Perhaps worst of all, we're just one USA Today journalist away from a sensationalist 4-part exposé focused on how anyone who gets their hands on that anonymous card could sneak their way into a 747 cockpit (bar reality, this is news) and that even cosmetologists have their photos on their certs.
--Ian

jackhodgson
Site Admin
Location: Lookout Point, Nottingham, NH / Nashua Airport (ASH)

Re: I've solved it!

Postby jackhodgson » Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:01 am

As a way to make pilots more visible and "human" is the best argument I've heard yet for adding a pic to the pilots license.

Thanks.

// Jack

jackhodgson
Site Admin