Episode #255 "The Reno Tragedy"

A place to post misc. feedback to individual eps.
Forum rules
We'd love to have you Reply to posts in this Forum, but please don't create new Topics here. One exception: If we haven't created a thread for a particular episode, feel free to get it started. For other subjects, I suggest creating new Topics in Virtual Hangar=>Other Topics. Thanks.
Laminar

Episode #255 "The Reno Tragedy"

Postby Laminar » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:44 am

This episode was more informative than anything produced so far by the "old media." You handled the topic with sensitivity, and without losing your commitment to objectivity and the truth. Very well done.

Jeb

Re: Episode #255 "The Reno Tragedy"

Postby Jeb » Thu Sep 22, 2011 11:49 am

Thanks, man. Probably the toughest one we've done...

Jeb

Sven

Postby Sven » Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:05 pm

There's a lot attenders who are processing this by finding out everything we can and learning things we didn't know. As a pilot I'm getting an education on all kinds of factors I never knew. Reconstructing the scene is good therapy and helps us to make sense of a situation that seemed out of control.

The first first responder was on the scene within 20 seconds. The ramp became flooded with people less than a minute later. People were willingly giving up their shirts and belts to use to render first aid. And the announcer cannot be overlooked. He immediately took charge and moved people out, called for all medical professionals to come in and calmed people down. Reviewing my pictures I noticed that two of the emergency vehicles had the words "Mass Casualty Unit" on them. These folks were prepared and practiced. They had the triage area set up in less than 5 minutes including places for the wounded to lay down away from the debris field. Their readiness and professionalism had to have saved several lives.